Former SNP MP Angus Robertson launches 2021 Holyrood campaign

The SNP's former leader at Westminster, Angus Robertson, has launched his campaign to contest the Holyrood seat held by Ruth Davidson.

Mr Robertson is seeking to stand in Edinburgh Central at the 2021 election when Ms Davidson steps down.

The ex-Moray MP aims to overturn the Tories' "tiny" 610-vote majority.

He said it was a "key constituency for the SNP to secure a pro-independence majority in next year's Scottish parliamentary elections."

In a video posted on Twitter, Mr Robertson added: "I believe I can win here with the support of SNP members and voters of all parties who don't want to see the area represented by a pro-Brexit MSP."

The SNP's Joanna Cherry has previously said she plans to challenge Mr Robertson for the seat.

The Edinburgh South West MP confirmed she would step down from Westminster if she was elected.

Ms Davidson took the seat from the SNP at the last Scottish election in 2016.

But in October she announced she was unlikely to seek re-election, two months after she quit as Scottish Conservative leader. The party has since confirmed she will not be standing in the 2021 election.

Since then she accepted and then turned down a lucrative job with a lobbying firm and has been nominated for a seat in the House of Lords.

Announcing his intention to contest the seat in February, Mr Robertson accused Ms Davidson of putting "other career interests in London ahead of the people she still represents at Holyrood" and argued that constituents "deserve better".

Mr Robertson also highlighted his links to the capital, having grown up in Stockbridge.

He said: "Edinburgh Central deserves a full-time MSP who will put the interests of their constituents first.

"At present, the heart of Scotland's capital city is represented by somebody who would prefer to be in the House of Lords and pursuing a career in public relations.

"Edinburgh Central needs an MSP that has a full-time commitment to their constituents and constituRead More – Source

[contf] [contfnew]

[contfnewc] [contfnewc]

Comments are closed.